The Autonomous City of Buenos Aires

Hola Amigos!

More Spanish lessons!

I bet a lot of you have pets at home. Like I said I have two cats at my house in Portland and my host mother here has a dog. In Spanish a cat is called a Gato and a dog is a Perro. In Spanish the last letter of many words changes with gender. For instance, my host mother’s dog, Tina, is a Perra (not a perro). So I’m sure some of you have perros and gatos, but do any of you have Monos (Monkeys) or Patos (Ducks) or Dinosaurios (Dinosaurs) at home? Me either.

The program that I am in here in Rosario includes several trips and events around Argentina. My favorite so far was our trip to Buenos Aires, the largest city in Argentina. Buenos Aires has always been the commercial center of the country, and therefore the most wealthy. Almost 3 million people live in the city of Buenos Aires, about six times as many people as Portland! Buenos Aires has a very large port which is one its main sources of income. Have you ever been called an Oregonian? Well people in Buenos Aires are called Porteños, which is like saying they are people of the port. Buenos Aires is also a huge tourist destination. After not hearing much English for the last month it was really surprising to hear people complaining about the heat as I walked down the street. Buenos Aires is also quite dangerous! The prosperous cities of Argentina are surrounded by villages of poor people who sometimes travel to the city in search of work, legitimate or otherwise.

Here’s a run down of our trip:

We all arrived in BsAs at 10 am and went to a part of the city called La Boca. La Boca (which means The Mouth) is a very old, beautiful part of the city. It was originally settled by italian immigrants and their influence is very clear in the style of architecture, the accents and the food in the area. This area is also known for it’s brightly painted buildings:

After lunch we went on a tour of an art museum where they forbid me from taking photos. They museum had a really wonderful collection including a piece from both the mexican artists Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo. Then we took a tour of The Recoleta Cemetery. The cemetery is massive. Our tour guide made us walk in a tight group because she swears she’s lost students here before. It’s a very unique place where the families of wealthy and/or famous people have erected ornate tombs to commemorate their lives. Residence include several past presidents and historical figures include Eva Peron, a famous argentine and first lady.

It’s a little city of tombs.

All of the buildings have large underground tombs where several generations of the family are buried,  the largest can hold up to 60 people.

After the cemetery we were all exhausted and decided to go back to the hotel for a siesta before heading out to a tango show and dinner. Tango is a type of music and dance that has originated in this area. In Argentina there are still many traditional Tango groups, but even the modern bands show signs of the influence of Tango in their music. La Cumparsita is one of the most recognizable Tango songs. It was written in 1916 in Uruguay, which is Argentina’s neighbor to the east. It was originally written on piano but had been adapted to several different instruments and arrangements. Here’s one I like:

Again, they asked us not to take pictures at the Tango. Fortunately they didn’t inform anyone of this policy until after the intermission so I snapped off just a few:

Tengo Madero

Tengo Madero

Tengo Madero

Tengo MaderoAfter a four hour bus trip, a museum, a cemetery, and siesta, we were all ready for some sleep after this tango performance. We all piled into the bus and made our way to the hotel for a good night sleep.

Sunday morning we got going early after a quick breakfast at the hotel we took a short trip to a famous bridge designed by Santiago Calatrava:
Puente de La Mujer por Santiago Calatrava
After which we took a stroll over to the Casa Rosada which translates as Pink House. The Pink House is basically the Argentine version of the White House. The president doesn’t actually live there but it’s the political center of Buenos Aires.
Casa Rosada
This second ay was much more relaxing, we mostly just strolled around the city’s many popular neighborhoods before eating a late lunch in the park and getting on the bus back to Rosario.

Okay next week I’m going to tell you a little bit about the trip I took to Uruguay this weekend and then tell you all about some of the foods that are popular here in Argentina. Ciao!

Tagged ,

17 thoughts on “The Autonomous City of Buenos Aires

  1. Toby Schay says:

    That kid is an incredible guitarist! What’s his name? how old is he?

    • Hola Toby,

      Yeah, this kid is crazy good. His name is Julio Silpitucla and I think he’s 11 or 12. He’s all over youtube if you want to check out more of his music.

      ciao

      • css15 says:

        Okay! Thanks, I’ll be sure to do that! Do you play any instruments? If so, which one(s)? I play the electric bass and I have been for about three years now. I got a new one for my birthday, about 5 days ago, from my parents (Gibson Epiphone, Thunderbird). It’s an amazing bass and i love it’s tone. when is your birthday?
        – Toby 🙂

  2. css15 says:

    i play drums. do you play any instruments?

    • Hola,

      Yes, I play a lil bit of guitar and bass. It’s actually kind of driving me crazy not having my guitar here. Who’s a bass player that you like a lot?

      ciao

      • css15 says:

        One bass player I enjoy listening to quite alot is Flea from the Red Hot Chile-peppers. Another is sting from The Police. I actually played a cover show for The Police about a year and a half ago. It was for this really interesting organization I go to called School Of Rock(SOR). They let kids do cover shows for all sorts of different bands/genres. Right now I’m on a Guns N Roses / Motley Crue show.

  3. Brianna says:

    HI:) so… is there any other sites you seen that you haven’t told us or put on your blog yet? cause these are very pretty sites. p.s my favorite is the Pink house:)
    -Brianna

    • Hola Brianna,

      I think The Pink House is really interesting too. I know they give tours of the inside but we didn’t have time that day. We did however explore the inside of some really beautiful old churches while we were there, I’ll try to post more pictures for you.

      ciao

  4. css15 says:

    hola,

    WOW! those pics of people doing the tango are very beautiful. I’m in theater and love to dance, do you like to dance? if so what is your favorite kind of dance?

    ~Rebekah~

  5. css15 says:

    hola again,

    I cant believe you did so good taking those pics of the view. Do you like taking picture’s? And hows school going? Ciao!

    ~Rebekah~

  6. css15 says:

    Hola!
    I like your Spanish Lessons. My elective at school is Spanish! How long have you been learning/speaking Spanish? (p.s. I wish I had a dinosaur!!!)
    ~Ellie 😀

    • Hola Ellie,

      Neat! I wish I had started learning Spanish when I was much younger. They say it’s easier when you’re younger to learn a language. I’ve had studied for about three years before I came here. This is the first time that I’ve really gotten to use the language though. It’s much more fun talking to people in Spanish when you can’t break back into English. How long have you been study Spanish? ¿Te gusta? ¿Puedes responder en Español?

      ciao

  7. css15 says:

    I want a grave like that guy, that grave/tomb is nice. Devin

  8. css15 says:

    Hola Erin
    Those people tangoing look great I wish I could have seen them.Where was that show and was that he only performance?And that white bridge looks so 21 century while everything else looks so old fashioned its so nice looking ciao.-Genevieve

    • Hola Genevieve,

      The show was at a venue called Tango Moderno, which means “Modern Tango.” The name signifies that the style of dance there is of a more eclectic style than the traditional tango, which would have more folkloric roots. It was one performance that lasted about an hour and a half but there were many different acts, which involved different dancers and costumes. It was a hilarious experience because they started the show off with a joke. Two men walked through the dining area arguing loudly and then taking a table to the back. They got louder and louder until one of them knocked over the table, spilling bread and silverware on the everywhere! At this point all the American students (me included) were sure that these two guys had just walking in off the street and were about to start fighting. Then they suddenly broke into dance to begin the first act. When we all realized they were part of the act we laughed about how convinced we were. I’m sure for most people it was obvious that they were acting, but the language barrier made it seem pretty believable.

      ciao.

  9. css15 says:

    hola,

    That bridge is extremely pretty! how early was it? I see it was still dark out. Ciao!

    ~Rebekah~

    • Hola Rebekah,

      It was only 10 or so. We’re transitioning into Spring here so the days are just now getting longer. It’s going to be funny leaving Argentina during there summer to return to Portland during the winter.

      ciao.

Leave a comment